Blog

My 10 Year Plan, Subject to Change

30 Day Writing Challenge – Day 2

Where would you like to be in 10 years?

If I’m still alive in 10 years, hopefully I will be blogging from a tropical shore on my very own private island with a frozen margarita in one hand and a sack with a dollar sign on it in the other being disturbed by no one but my butlers and a young James Franco.

So dreamy…

How am I supposed to know where I want to be in 10 years?! I’m so indecisive, my answers will probably all be different tomorrow! I know some people have a “5 year plan” that maps out their immediate futures, but I’ve always been the type of person to see where things take me. I can’t set my future in stone! Where’s the fun in that?! I’ll make my choices when presented with options, and maybe I’ll end up somewhere that interests me enough to stay. I don’t have concrete plans. But I guess I can still give you a rough idea of some things I would like my future to contain.

Happiness. I believe happiness is a mindset and if you try to find things that make you happy, you will be able to. However, if you focus on the negative, that is all you will see. I’m pretty good at keeping myself entertained and including things that I love doing in my everyday schedule. I’m fairly content now, so I hope I can keep this up!

Culture. Hopefully in 10 years, I will have 10 years of experiences in other countries under my belt. There are so many places I need to see, foods I must eat, and adventures in far away lands that are screaming my name! The world is vast, and I’ve been occupying the same corner of the Earth for far too long. It’s time I mix things up and get lost somewhere in Tibet!

A successful career. I’m not sure what I want to do professionally yet, but I want to have a career that makes me feel like I am making a difference. Even if it is a small one. I want to enjoy the drive to work every morning and feel passionate about the work I do! I want to be inspired by the people I work with and grow as a writer and a young professional! I fear the monotony of the 9-5 in a cramped cubicle in a bland office where the most exciting thing to happen is a new update for my spreadsheet.

A humble abode. All I want is a cute house in a safe neighborhood! I love love love interior/exterior decorating (I even subscribed to a house decorating magazine for a while when I was 17!) and I am excited to paint my walls, buy furniture, and plant flowers all over my beautiful yard!

A family? Marriage is a possibility, but we shall see. I’m pretty sure I don’t want kids now, but if I decide I do want them later, I think adopting two little guys would be ideal.

Ten years from now, I want to exude confidence, feel like I have lived up to my potential, possess journals filled with tales of the adventures I’ve had, have a solid group of friends that are down for spontaneous global exploration, and be on my way toward another adventure!

Leave a Reply

