Blog

What Completes Me

30 Day Writing Challenge – Day 8

Discuss a moment when you felt most satisfied with your life.

What? My life is anything BUT satisfying… All of the satisfaction life can bring me will be in the future. I’m working toward being satisfied.

I’ve always had a difficult time making friends, and, for an introvert, it bothers me more than it should. I’m usually okay when I’m alone for long periods of time, but last summer was tough. Until an old acquaintance reached out to me.

He invited me to hang out (third-wheel) with him and his girlfriend, whom I had also been friends with in high school. One day, when I was done with work, they dropped by to pick me up. I was not expecting this, but I went along with them anyway because sometimes it’s good to do things that scare you. I ended up having more fun than I thought I would.

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to hang out (third-wheel) with them again, but I was tired of being alone all the time, and I’d had fun, so I decided it was best. They started inviting me to hang out (third-wheel) with them more and more, and eventually, I felt like part of their group of friends. I had always wanted a group of friends that was always down for anything and we were always adventuring.

The day Pokémon Go came out, we almost pulled an all-nighter. The night started out with us three playing Mario Kart and Smash Bros. Brawl at my friend’s house, but then we hit the town in search of Pokémon. We eventually met up with some more of their friends, and ended up walking around town until 3 AM. Late night escapades like this grew more numerous as the summer continued, and I will always cherish those nights.

Hanging out with this group of people became a part of my schedule. I would go to work, return home for a few hours, and then meet up with the gang. It had been a while since I’d had a solid group of friends to hang out with every day, and I finally didn’t feel so lonely.

Last summer, I felt most satisfied with my life.

Leave a Reply

