Musings

A Pirate’s Life for Me

30 Day Writing Challenge – Day 9

If you could have any job in the world, what would it be?

As a young, naive child, I used to answer this question with much enthusiasm by exclaiming: “nurse!” or “teacher!” This is because adults couldn’t handle the truth. I always had to censor what I said around them or risk being lectured. I can tell you with certainty that these two careers are not even on my backup list. I hate needles and kidneys, and educating sticky children doesn’t sound fulfilling to me. Listed below are a few of my real answers. Some of them applied then and all of them apply now.

Image result for circus wagon animal cage
Put me in one of these!

Pirate. There’s just something about pillaging villages and adventuring from island to island… I’ve always been obsessed with pirates, and at a young age, I decided that life on the sea would be ideal. Instead of using automatic weapons and speedboats like modern pirates, I would be a REAL pirate with a sword and a parrot (and probably not a peg leg…) And if you think I’m kidding about my obsession with pirates, I have the jolly roger to prove it.

Circus act. I’m on my way to becoming an expert hula hoop dancer. And I think if I learned how to breathe fire, this could be an intriguing circus act. Put me on a tightrope, and I’ll be a showstopper! I also think living with a bunch of carnies would be a dream. Imagine carpooling with thirteen clowns or working out with a contortionist! Also, I would get to live off of popcorn and caramel apples. They might haul me around in one of those wheeled trailer cages, and that wouldn’t be fun, but this job consists of mostly perks otherwise.

Writer? I guess this is the most realistic job on this list. I don’t really care what I would have to write about as long as it funded my travels. I absolutely love learning about new things, so I would also be down with writing about a variety of subjects.

Leave a Reply

